

Call for Nominations

Once every 4 years, ICLAS confers awards in association with a General Assembly held at a prominent international gathering in laboratory animal science. ICLAS is soliciting nominations for two awards to be presented during the Federation of European Associations for Laboratory Animal Science (FELASA) Congress, June 10-13, 2019, in Prague, Czech Republic. Nominations must be received by September 15, 2018.

<u>The Mühlbock-Nomura Award</u> is the oldest and most prestigious recognition that ICLAS confers. The Award was named after two scientists who supported the value of using high quality, genetically- and microbiologically-defined laboratory animals in research. Professor O.F.E. Mühlbock of the Netherlands, one of the early fathers of ICLAS. In 2013 the award was renamed as the "Mühlbock-Nomura Award" in recognition of the contributions made by Dr. Tatsuji Nomura of Japan, both to ICLAS and in the field of laboratory animal quality. Since 1988, the Award has been conferred at each General Assembly on a number of distinguished scientists, including a Nobel laureate.

Previous awardees:

2015- Dr. Mamoru Ito, Central Institute for Experimental Animals, Japan

2011- Anita Aperia, Karolinska Institute, Sweden

2007 - Dr Edouardo Moacyr Krieger, Brazilian physician, physiologist and scientific leader, and a president of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences

2003- Dr Jean-Louis Guénet, Head of the Mammalian Genetics Unit at Institut Pasteur, Paris. France

1999- Peter C. Doherty, Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1996

1990- Bennet J. Cohen

1988- Tatsuji Nomura

<u>The Bennet Cohen Award</u> recognizes an individual who has achieved prominence in promoting and advancing the "Three Rs" of reduction, refinement and replacement in the use of laboratory animals in research, teaching, and testing. The 3R's principles were described in 1959 by William Russell and Rex Burch.

Since 1995, the award has been presented to the following scientists:

2015- Prof. Jeffery Mogil, McGill University, Montreal, Canada

2011- John Miller, Executive Director, AAALAC, International

2007- Prof. Paul Flecknell, Professor/Director Comparative Biology Centre, Medical School, University of Newcastle

2003- Dr Harry Rowsell, Executive Director of the Canadian Council on Animal Care, Canada, 1968-1992

1999 Prof Bert van Zutphen, Director Department of Laboratory Animal Science, Utrecht University, The Netherlands

Call for Nominations

Nominations should include a brief CV (no more than 3 pages) and a statement justifying the nomination. Evaluations are based on the following criteria:

<u>Mühlbock-Nomura Award</u>: The nominee's work: has relied on high quality, genetically and microbiologically-defined laboratory animals in research; has resulted in a respected body of original research published in peer-reviewed journals; has national or international impact in his or her field of research, in whole or part based on use of animal models.

Bennet Cohen Award The nominee's work: supports increased understanding of the 3Rs via educational efforts and dissemination; develops new methods or improvements in the 3R's; has had significant impact on animal welfare at a national or international level.

The awardees will ideally be present at the international scientific meeting June 10-13, 2019 at the FELASA Congress. At this meeting, each awardee will be allotted time in the scientific program to present her or his work to the meeting attendees in a keynote address. Travel expenses, hotel, and meeting registration costs will be covered for award winners.

Nomination deadline 15th of September 15, 2018

Please submit nomination(s) to info@iclas.org

ICLAS Awards Committee: President: ICLAS President

Secretary: ICLAS Secretary General

Members: • 2 members of the ICLAS Governing Board

Decisions of this committee are ratified by vote of the ICLAS Governing Board